Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Honey theft  (Read 4275 times)

Offline Horns Pure Honey

• House Bee
Honey theft
« on: December 15, 2004, 11:43:10 pm »
I was wandering how do I keep ratcoons and other critters out of my hives? Thanks, bye
Ryan Horn

Offline thomashton

• House Bee
Honey theft
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2004, 12:19:55 am »
I have no real world experience, but Beekeeping for Dummies says for skunks and such, the best thing to do is use a hive stand so they have to stand up to get at it. Then, their belly is exposed. The bees know what to do after that. For racoons, the best deterrant is a big, heavy rock or cinderblock they can't move from the top. I would assume these together would take care of most problems.

I was thinking that when I finally begin my beekeeping adventures that I would put in a motion-activated light. That might frighten pests away when they come creeping in at night.
After 18 months of reading and preparation, my girls finally arrived on April 11th (2006)!

Offline Horns Pure Honey

• House Bee
Honey theft
« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2004, 09:18:46 am »
I have looked at the motion sensor light that flashes lights and makes a lound screching noise. So I gues I will build wood stands that then I will put the hive stand on for the bees to land on then the hive and then 2 cinder blocks, slound alright? thanks, bye
Ryan Horn

Offline Jay

• House Bee
Honey theft
« Reply #3 on: December 16, 2004, 10:30:33 am »
Quote from: thomashton

I was thinking that when I finally begin my beekeeping adventures that I would put in a motion-activated light. That might frighten pests away when they come creeping in at night.