Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Swarm Hive Absconded  (Read 1606 times)

Offline dean0

• House Bee
    • My photovoltaic Website
Swarm Hive Absconded
« on: March 10, 2011, 07:57:11 pm »
My very first bees came from a swarm that had taken up residence inside of a speaker box that I received on Thursday March 3rd.  I removed the bees from the speaker box and put them into a deep hive body with a queen excluded between the hive body and the bottom board on Thursday March 4th.  Since this is my first year as a beek and my first bees ever, I could only give them one small frame of old comb and one frame of comb salvaged from the speaker box.  I gave them a pail of sugar water feed through a 7/8 inch hole in the cover so they would not starve.  When they were still in the speaker box, I could see them bringing in pollen but after I transferred them to a deep box, I noticed they were no longer bringing in any pollen but they had consumed about 4 cups of sugar water. On Sunday March 6th, I removed the queen excluded and some small pieces of comb that I had not attached to a frame because they were too small but were full of nectar. The pieces of comb from the speaker had already been drawn down and attached to the bottom of the frame.  Everything seems to be going fine so far.