Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: New to Queen Rearing  (Read 3745 times)

Offline Lord BuzzALot

• New Bee
New to Queen Rearing
« on: February 17, 2005, 08:44:56 am »
I am beggining beekeeping and I would like to rear  my own queens. The only problem is that I know nothing about it and I don't understand the websites I visit about it. How lond do I need to have kept the bees for before I do it? And how do I do it?

Offline Robo

• Technical
  • Administrator
  • Galactic Bee
  • Beekeep On!
    • Bushkill Bee Vac
New to Queen Rearing
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2005, 09:36:21 am »
As a beginner, I would not recommend jumping right into queen rearing.  I would concentrate on honing your general beekeeping skills and knowledge first.  The queen is the center of any hive,  and the quickest way to loose a hive is by having a poor queen.  I would strongly recommend buying your queens from a reputable queen breeder for the first couple of years.

Also keep in mind, you need more than a hive or two to prevent in-breeding.

Once you have become an experienced beekeeper, then start experimenting with queen rearing.  You have many things to learn and deal with as a beginner and attempting queen rearing your first year will only reduce your chances of success.

Once you have some experience under your belt,  what you read about queen rearing will be understood and will make sense. Here is more info on the method I have adapted to over the years.
http://robo.hydroville.com/html/modules.php?name=News&file=article&sid=16
"Opportunity is missed by most people because it comes dressed in overalls and looks like work." - Thomas Edison

Offline TwT

• Senior Forum
  • Galactic Bee
  • Ted
New to Queen Rearing
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2005, 04:32:51 pm »
AIN'T KNOW SENCE TRYING TO IMPROVE ON THAT ANSWER :wink:

good answer Robo,,,,, I likes dat 1
THAT's ME TO THE LEFT JUST 5 MONTHS FROM NOW!!!!!!!!

Never be afraid to try something new.
Amateurs built the ark,