Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Hi my name is Sam  (Read 3192 times)

Offline scnossen

• Brood
Hi my name is Sam
« on: December 02, 2013, 12:48:23 am »
Hi, I am new to beekeeping and new to this forum.  I wanted to introduce myself and ask a couple of questions.
I am from Bliss Idaho

I just purchased 4 colony's and have been reading alot about the "sport" of beekeeping.. I have made a couple of decisions.  But have a question about what might be my best move in the spring?

One: I would like to let the bee's do as much work as possible and keep my input to a minimum and enjoy keeping bee's.
Two: I will be going with one size hive body Medium 8 frame that way my equipment will be easy to interchange.
Three: I would like to go with foundation-less frames and let the bee's draw out all their comb.
Four: I am moving toward top entrance to my hives.

The four colony's I bought are 8 frame boxes single deep with one medium super.  What would be the easiest and best way to split them and move them over to all medium super equipment this spring?

Maybe a couple of management decisions or am I just over thinking this whole deal.

Offline Brother Dave

• House Bee
    • West Island Wild Flower
Re: Hi my name is Sam
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2013, 01:21:06 am »
Welcome I am trying to move to all mediums also M. Bush makes a good case for the measures you are thinking about. I have chosen to go slow on change in this regard I will let my hives build up and next winter steal the bottom deep when the bees are clustered in the top two boxes. I have not tried this but think it will work.
I am using 10 frame boxes, foundation less and am working on my top entrances.
David

Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk

Offline Joe D

• Super Bee
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2013, 02:39:49 am »