Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Pros and Cons of painting the inside of a hive body.  (Read 8713 times)

Offline RHBee

• Queen Bee
  • That's my pooch.
Pros and Cons of painting the inside of a hive body.
« on: February 26, 2013, 09:37:50 pm »
I would like to explain why I'm asking this question in the general forum. It kinda falls in the building and pest control sections but because it's two subjects I'll throw it out here.
I live in an area where the SHB has a strong presence. I am constructing my hives this year out of recycled lumber. Because of this the lumber has nail holes, cracks and crevices. These are prime egg laying opportunities for the female SHB. Last year I studied this beast extensively and found that the females have a long ovipositor which makes them able to lay eggs in areas that the bees can't patrol and clean. I am planning to use latex caulk and paint on the interior of my boxes to do away these issues. I want to make these boxes as inhospitable to SHB as I can. I have always read not to paint the interior of the hives but don't understand why. I believe that hives painted with latex paint and properly dried would do no harm to the bees.
I hope that some of you guys won't mind  explaining the Cons that you can see in this plan.
Later,
Ray

Offline hardwood

• Galactic Bee
  • Alysian Apiaries youtube.com/MrBeedude
Re: Pros and Cons of painting the inside of a hive body.
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2013, 09:41:59 pm »
The bees will propolize any little hole right quick, probably before the beetles can find it. If you're worried just melt a little wax into the hole.

Scott