Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Newbie in Oklahoma...w/ questions of course :)  (Read 4140 times)

Offline hazmat

• New Bee
Newbie in Oklahoma...w/ questions of course :)
« on: February 24, 2010, 01:30:06 am »
Hi, I'm new to the beekeeping thing and I just ordered my first 2 garden hives from brushy mountain tonight.  I got all the equipment and hive stuff and I'll be setting it up in the next couple weeks.

Actually, I am located in San Diego, but my brother and dad will be setting it up for me there near Geary, OK.

My first question is...when do you okies figure is a good time to get your first year hives started?  As early as possible or do you usually wait until April-ish?  Like I said, I'll have the hives there in a couple weeks, but I won't be visiting until early April....is that too late to start a hive in Oklahoma?

Also, when is ya'lls normal nectar flow times during the year?

Thanks for the views, and I appreciate all the help I can get!

Dustin

Offline indypartridge

• Queen Bee
Re: Newbie in Oklahoma...w/ questions of course :)
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2010, 08:34:35 am »
Hey Dustin,

Welcome to beekeeping.  I'm not clear on your plans when you say you're in San Diego but will be "visiting" Oklahoma where your Dad & brother will have set up the hives. Kinda hard to keep bees that are a thousand miles away!

Being in Indiana, I can't answer your Oklahoma-specific questions, but you might consider making some direct contacts with some Okie beekeepers. Maybe your dad/brother could make some connections. There are a few beekeeping clubs that aren't too far from Geary:
http://www.okbees.org/LocalClubs.html

Offline Two Bees

• Field Bee
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2010, 08:55:53 am »
Welcome!

If there is something blooming and if you typically do not have freezing weather in OK during April, you should be in good shape to install your packages or nucs in April and have a good year.

Good luck!