Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Using migratory covers  (Read 3213 times)

Offline gardeningfireman

• Field Bee
Using migratory covers
« on: December 07, 2010, 07:11:29 pm »
I am putting together a wish list for Christmas. I can make 2 or 3 migratory covers for the price of 1 telescoping outer cover. I have never used migratory covers before, and wondered if you use an inner cover under it like you do with a tel. outer cover. If so, I will add inner covers to the wish list. If not, I'll add something else. Thanks!

Offline AllenF

• Galactic Bee
Re: Using migratory covers
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2010, 08:11:23 pm »
You do not need inner covers with migratory covers.   

Offline Kathyp

• Global Moderator
  • Universal Bee
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2010, 08:31:38 pm »
you don't need them.  i  use them because they are good for putting jar feeders on and they are a little extra protection in winter.  if you find you want them later, you can make them easily.  some that i have were given to me and were homemade. 
Someone really ought to tell them that the world of Ayn Rand?s novel was not meant to be aspirational.

Offline gardeningfireman

• Field Bee
« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2010, 10:09:11 pm »
Thanks! Now I can add something different to my wish list!! :-D

Offline VolunteerK9

• Super Bee
  • Gamecock fan in UT land.
« Reply #4 on: December 08, 2010, 09:30:39 am »
Ive built several migratory covers for my nucs and some for the 10 frames. Havent used them yet though to have an opinion either way. I just got tired of building the telescoping covers and bending sheet metal to cover them.

Offline hardwood

• Galactic Bee
  • Alysian Apiaries youtube.com/MrBeedude
« Reply #5 on: December 08, 2010, 09:46:15 am »
We cut simple covers from form plywood (plastic coated on both sides) and drill a 2 3/4 hole to accept feed (mason) jars. When not feeding we just plug the hole with a blank jar top.

Scott