Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Hello From Dickerson, Maryland  (Read 2187 times)

Offline Gil

• New Bee
Hello From Dickerson, Maryland
« on: January 17, 2008, 11:51:55 pm »
Hi everyone!  I'm a rookie beekeeper in my 3rd year.  My wife got me started in beekeeping.  She started when she was a kid back in Brazil.  We got our first batch of honey this year, caught our first swarm, have 4 colonies now, and generally had a good year.

Does anyone have any advise on winter feeding?  Is it a good idea to feed in the middle of winter?  I was negligent in the fall to do proper inspections and was concerned at the beginning of winter that our colonies did not have enough honey stored.  So on warm days when the bees are flying, (we've had several so far this winter), I fill their entrance feeders with 1 to 1 sugar syrup.  Any thoughts!

Thanks'
Gil

Offline JP

• The Swarm King
  • Universal Bee
  • I like doing cut-outs, but I love catching swarms!
    • JPthebeeman.com
Re: Hello From Dickerson, Maryland
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2008, 12:22:36 am »
Be careful with liquid feeding with a cold snap approaching. You don't want added moisture inside the hive when its cold, its not good for the bees. They will have a lot of trouble keeping warm with added moisture. Do an inventory on a warm day to judge their stores. If you need to feed you can make fondant or sugar blocks, these are more dry feed feeding measures. Check this site for recipes and also search emergency feeding. I'm glad you and your wife are beekeeping buddies, ya'll have so much to share with one another, and that is just fantastic!

Sincerely, JP
My Youtube page is titled JPthebeeman with hundreds of educational & entertaining videos.

My website JPthebeeman.com http://jpthebeeman.com

Offline Cindi

• Galactic Bee
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2008, 10:38:37 am »