Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Formic Acid  (Read 4849 times)

Offline Peppy

• New Bee
Formic Acid
« on: October 06, 2005, 09:58:32 pm »
A fellow beekeeper in a local Arkansas association is selling Formic Acid as an aid in controlling Varroa and Tracheal mites. The procedure calls for using the product as a vapour with a dispencing pad placed over the frames. Has anyone had experience using this type of treatment and are there any toxic side effects in its use? Any advice/information appreciated.
Bobby

Offline Apis629

• Field Bee
    • A Hobbyist's Beekeeping Adventures
Formic Acid
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2005, 10:17:51 pm »
While I have no first hand experience, everything I've read says that the fumes do not contaminate the wax but, with the formic acid treatement there is a high risk of queen death (20-30%?)

Online Michael Bush

• Universal Bee
    • bushfarms.com
Formic Acid
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2005, 12:03:21 am »
I have not used it.  The two big down sides to me are that it is very temperature dependant and the high queen mortalitly makes me think it must be pretty bad for the bees.
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm en espanol: bushfarms.com/es_bees.htm  auf deutsche: bushfarms.com/de_bees.htm  em portugues:  bushfarms.com/pt_bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--James "Big Boy" Medlin

Offline stilllearning

• House Bee
Formic Acid
« Reply #3 on: October 07, 2005, 07:43:03 am »
formaldehyde, a medical preservative and disenfectant, when it is exposed to air, one of the resulting chemicals formed is formic acid.
Formaldehyde is know to cause cancer in some instances
it is also used in embalming fluid. I wonder if formic acid has some of the
bad properties of it.  Formic acid is also found in the sting of ants and some plants, I understand it to be the thing that causes the pain in
stings from ants and plants.  I would not want to expose my bees to it.
Wayne Cole

Offline Apis629