Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Trap-out in a "swiss cheese" house  (Read 2014 times)

Offline oblib

• House Bee
Trap-out in a "swiss cheese" house
« on: May 24, 2012, 12:44:15 am »
Around noon today a city power worker stops by to tell me "the guys" would be thankfull if i would go over to an abandoned house in town and trap out the hive that is living there. As I'm a contractor and the electical guys are all good guys and work with me when I need it I tell them so and that I'll look at it and see if I can. Of course what I'm really thinking is COOL MORE FREE BEES.

I get over there about five and see two entrances and at least thirty feet of cracks that I'm pretty sure they can use to get back into the hive. I also see a ton of forgagers coming and going like its going to be 50 below tomorrow and they need to stock the hive now. So I climb up on the porch roof and avoiding the holes is said roof I seal one entrance and use up a tube of caulk sealing cracks then hang the cone. Instantly I'm in a bee furball  I mean holy heck, within one minute there is two pounds of bees trying to get back in the hive. Within 3 minutes they are spreading out all over the wall ( a good ten by ten area) trying to find a way back in. I get my box hung and think I'm golden.