Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: New beek, swarm traps  (Read 3569 times)

Offline patriotgirlie

• New Bee
New beek, swarm traps
« on: March 03, 2013, 06:04:49 pm »
General question for you guys; I am going to be building some swarm traps to put around my property, and I'm going to put lemongrass oil in them, but I've read nearly everywhere that you should put old comb in them as well, but as a new beek, I have none.  Any suggestions?  Is there someone I can buy some drawn out foundation or comb from?  Any other tricks or ideas?  Is just the lemongrass oil enough.

Any info would be rad!

Thanks!

Jamie

Moots

Re: New beek, swarm traps
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2013, 06:26:03 pm »
Jamie,
First, saw the link to your blog earlier....nicely done.

As for the swarm traps, Being a newbie myself, I'm in the exact same boat as you.  Plenty of good threads and discussions if you want to do a search.  In a nut shell, my understanding is 3 key factors, aside from location of coarse!  Existing Bee smell in the box, lemongrass oil, and old comb.

I have out 6 swarm traps.  In two of the six, I have two of the three.  I used my 2 Nuc boxes that my new bees lived in for their first 3 weeks before being moved to their hive bodies, along with some lemon grass oil.  In the other 4, they're new boxes so I only have the lemon grass oil.  Not sure how bad that hurts my chances, but I figured it was worth a shot.  :)  After all, bees end up in some places with none of the three!  :-D

I have read that the old comb can be a draw and problem with wax moths, but in practice, everyone I know that has it, uses it.

If you can find a source for old comb, I'd certainly make use of it.

Good Luck!

Offline BlueBee

• Galactic Bee
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2013, 06:54:38 pm »
Location:  Maybe put some near Danno’s hives. ;)  That’s the most likely place to find swarms in Michigan; from our friendly beeks hives.