Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Hello from Missouri  (Read 3486 times)

Offline potionlady

• New Bee
Hello from Missouri
« on: June 28, 2008, 10:44:39 pm »
I have been keeping bees for about 3 years now and have not really had any success with getting a honey crop.  I have bees in 2 deep supers, but they do not fill the shallow supers above the queen excluder.  I have read and read and can not figure out what I am doing wrong.  So I decided I needed help.  I am hoping this forum will teach me what I need to know.  I love the bees.  They are great fun to watch. but I would like to get some honey also.  Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks for any suggestions that you might have. :)

Offline Robo

• Technical
  • Administrator
  • Galactic Bee
  • Beekeep On!
    • Bushkill Bee Vac
Re: Hello from Missouri
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2008, 11:02:33 pm »
Assuming your supers have foundation in them,  you need to remove the queen excluder at least until they start drawing out the foundation and storing nectar.  Bees will not squeeze thru a excluder unless there is something on the other side to entice them.  Foundation won't do it.
"Opportunity is missed by most people because it comes dressed in overalls and looks like work." - Thomas Edison

Offline johnnybigfish

• Super Bee
    • The World of Johnnybigfish
« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2008, 12:07:20 am »
 Hey Robo,
How about if she feeds with a top feeder?
 I did that most all of last yeaR and i got honey which tasted like honey. (oh yeh,...No excluder at all)...But my honey did crystalize pretty quick(6 months)..I turned it back to honey by nuking it 10 to 15 seconds at a time, til it turned wet again.
 Last year was my first year of bees. I still have them this year so far! :)

your friend,
john

Offline dpence

• Field Bee
« Reply #3 on: June 29, 2008, 01:38:26 am »
What part of Missouri?  What type of foundation are you using? 

David

Offline Robo

• Technical
  • Administrator
  • Galactic Bee
  • Beekeep On!