Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Should I intervene and requeen my weak hive?  (Read 11097 times)

Offline kalium

• House Bee
Should I intervene and requeen my weak hive?
« on: February 09, 2014, 07:54:42 pm »
Hi guys,

I'm new to beekeeping, I got my first hive about 6 weeks ago, it was a 10 frame deep with about 3 frames (not full) of brood and a new queen.
In that time I've read a lot, but still have very very little experience.

About a week after getting my hive I noticed there were a couple of capped supersedure cells. I assume the virgin queen
emerged as I saw at least on of those supersedure cells was then uncapped about 10 days ago.

I looked in my hive again yesterday and noticed they were feeding yet another supersedure cell
(lots of royal jelly in it).

All the while I find minimal larvae in the cells and there are a few chalkbrood. The hive's population
has not increased a noticeable amount since I got it.

There is no drone brood, there is some honey (uncapped) and pollen, but not a whole lot of either.

So my main conundrum is, should I let nature take its course, wait to see what happens with this new queen that is
still uncapped and being fed, or just buy a queen. Waiting for the supersedure process takes time, and I don't have a very
strong hive to begin with. A new queen will just get in there and start laying right away. Although there are
no guarantees she will be very good either...

Cheers.

Offline Kathyp

• Global Moderator
  • Universal Bee
Re: Should I intervene and requeen my weak hive?
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2014, 08:56:39 pm »
is this your only hive?
Someone really ought to tell them that the world of Ayn Rand?s novel was not meant to be aspirational.

Offline kalium

• House Bee
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2014, 09:07:23 pm »
is this your only hive?

Unfortunately yes, otherwise I would probably try to combine it with another.

Offline yantabulla

• House Bee
« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2014, 03:56:09 am »