Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Finding a beehive  (Read 2062 times)

Offline beeginner

• House Bee
  • The swarm I hived
Finding a beehive
« on: March 27, 2007, 02:16:35 am »
Hi ever one today I was working on my friends garden and a honey bee came up frist one ive seen within 2 miles of my house this year but I was just wanting to know how do you track them back to the hive?  This week ill be getting 25 supers for 4 or 5 $ a super. I dont think thats to bad for them and there all in good shape. Thanks for all the help  :)

Offline Sean Kelly

• Field Bee
  • I Pick; Therefore I Grin
    • Sean's Facebook Page
Re: Finding a beehive
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2007, 03:37:39 am »
That's funny, I just made a post about the same thing.  Following a bee back to it's hive from the field is called "Bee-lining".  I guess the theory is when the bees leave the field, they make a direct path , or a bee-line, back to the hive.  There's a trick to doing it and I've never done it before.  I was trying to find out how successful people had been by doing this old art.

Congrats on the cool find.  $5 a super, not bad!  Do you get the frames and stuff too?  Or is it just the body?

Sean Kelly
"My son,  eat  thou honey,  because it is good;  and the honeycomb,  which is sweet  to thy taste"          - Proverbs 24:13

Offline beeginner

• House Bee
  • The swarm I hived
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2007, 04:09:21 am »
Yes its the frames ever thing ill just need new Crimp wire thats it. Then he said 7$ for the hive body frames ever thing.

Offline beeginner

• House Bee
  • The swarm I hived
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2007, 04:27:06 am »