Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: My first swarm  (Read 2948 times)

Offline brydie

• New Bee
My first swarm
« on: January 24, 2007, 08:40:23 pm »
Hi guys, I'm so excited and just couldn't wait to tell you all about my first swarm.  Came home from work yesterday and yep my bees had swarmed.  I am very new to beekeeping (have only had them for about 2 months), so as you can imagine I was very worried about seeing a huge swarm in my mango tree just above the hive.

I borrowed a box from my friend and my husband and I cut the branch down and successfully relocated our homeless girls to a new hive.  I must say it was one of the best feelings to hold a branch absolutely full of bees so close to me and to be part of a special experience.

I am very proud of my husband as he has never done any beekeeping due to being away with work.  I have worked with my bees a few times over the past few months, but this was certainly an expereince I will never forget...and a great confidence booster!

I managed to get one photo of the swarm in the mango tree, but the batteries died in the camera when my husband went to take a photo of me holding the branch.

I am hoping to re-queen both hives soon to help with the swarming tendancy.

Take care!  Yours excitedly - Brydie  :lol:

Offline Understudy

• Galactic Bee
    • http://www.understudy.net
Re: My first swarm
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2007, 08:51:44 pm »
Sounds like you did very well. Congradulations.  :-D

Swarming is a natural process. There is nothing wrong with queens that swarm. As a matter of fact it is a sign that the queen in usually healthy. So don't be to quick to requeen.

Sincerely,
Brendhan
The status is not quo. The world is a mess and I just need to rule it. Dr. Horrible

Offline brydie

• New Bee
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2007, 09:49:59 pm »