Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Unusual Problems - Beginner Here  (Read 3236 times)

Offline calvis

• New Bee
Unusual Problems - Beginner Here
« on: July 19, 2007, 04:00:07 am »
One of the recurring thoughts that keep coming in my beginner mind is, "Am I doing things right.".   For the most part I have been having an inner discourse with myself that I must not worry too much and let the bees do their thing.   However, I have came across a couple of issues.   The first being the cone formation that my bees have been developing in the first super.  No matter what distance the frames are the bees will merge the frames together which makes inspection very difficult.   I say difficult because when I break the frames apart I see larva everywhere and I don't want to be destroying any larva because I need the workers.   The second issue that I am Perturbed by is during the night a good number of bees will loiter at the entrance for no apparent reason.  I thought they are suppose to be in the hive?  I dont think it is the weather because it has been rainy and overcast for the past 2 days.   Another issue that I have is that I added another super but there is no good cell formation.  All I see is just clumps of cone fusing 2 frames together.   I have had it on for 2 weeks.  Before I added the 2nd super the 1st was over 80 percent full.

I am looking for a good plan here.  Am I being too sensitive in regards to damaging any larva when pulling the frames apart?  How can I stop the bees from merging the frames together?   I have experimented with the frames next to each other to frames a few inches apart.  I am concerned if the frames are fused the bees will have trouble finding their way to the second super.  Can I take some frames from super 1 and put them super 2?