Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: harvesting honey Question  (Read 2020 times)

Offline papabear

• House Bee
harvesting honey Question
« on: August 05, 2007, 11:34:20 am »
I have two hives with one super on each that has all 10 frames in each super about 80 to 85% of capped honey. Can I harvest the frames even though they are not fully capped?
"IF YOU BELIEVE THAT JESUS DIED FOR U, YOU WILL HAVE ETERNAL LIFE."

Offline acepestdetective

• New Bee
Re: harvesting honey Question
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2007, 01:29:07 pm »
 This is my first year of beekeeping so obviously lacking the knowledge of many on here but I don't see any reason why you can't.

Which way are you going to remove? Crushing or by extractor?

Offline Understudy

• Galactic Bee
    • http://www.understudy.net
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2007, 03:29:35 pm »
You could extract but I think you would be better off waiting an extra week or two and let them cap off a bit more.

Sincerely,
Brendhan
The status is not quo. The world is a mess and I just need to rule it. Dr. Horrible

Offline Potlicker1

• House Bee
« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2007, 08:17:02 pm »
I agree. If you can spare the time let them cap the rest.

Offline LocustHoney

• House Bee
« Reply #4 on: August 05, 2007, 09:26:00 pm »
I took a couple of frames that were like that just because I couldn't wait. It would be best if you could wait but if you don't then just eat that honey first. I was told that if you take honey that is not ready it will have a "smell" to it after time. I haven't experienced that yet but time will tell. Of course I went ahead and ate that first!! :-D

Offline Cindi

• Galactic Bee
« Reply #5 on: August 06, 2007, 12:05:45 pm »
We were taught in our beekeeping 1 and 2 that once the frames are 3/4 capped, it is 100% OK to remove and extract.  It saves the bees all that wax and time of capping the remaining 1/4, got for it!!!!  Have a wonderful day, great life, happy extracting. Cind