Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: A big warm "How Do" from SE Oklahoma  (Read 4982 times)

Offline ddarity

• New Bee
A big warm "How Do" from SE Oklahoma
« on: April 06, 2006, 04:47:52 pm »
Hello to the group!

An absolute beginner here.  I would like to make it to intermediate beekeeper status, so I am looking for reviews or recomendations for a good suit.  Any direction would be greatly appreciated.
-Dave 8)

Offline Kris^

• Field Bee
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2006, 10:31:06 pm »
Hi Dave, and welcome!

My suit is from Mann Lake, with the attached veil and helmet, and the leather gloves with canvas gauntlets.  It came with the "starter kit" I bought three years ago:

http://www.mannlakeltd.com/catalog/page62.html

It was a good suit for starting, and it works very well, but I'd get something different now, like a different veil with better all-around visibility.

Good luck, and enjoy the bees!

-- Kris

Offline ddarity

• New Bee
Bee suit.
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2006, 01:16:42 pm »
Thanks Kris,  I am kind of leaning towards one with the zip on veil.  I saw one from beecare and one from omega.  What do you like and dislike about the one you have now.
Thanks,
Dave

Offline Michael Bush

• Universal Bee
    • bushfarms.com
« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2006, 03:13:47 pm »
For most work if it's not too hot, I like a jacket with a zip on english style veil.  It's MUCH easier and qucker to put on than a full suit.  Lighter and cooler too.

For hot work I like the Golden Bee Products suit.  It's ventilated so it's nice and cool but it's quite expensive.

For hot work where it's not going to be hot bees, I like a bug baffler jacket with a built in veil and the pants with shorts on under it.  Nice and breezy and cheap and light.
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm en espanol: bushfarms.com/es_bees.htm  auf deutsche: bushfarms.com/de_bees.htm  em portugues:  bushfarms.com/pt_bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------