Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Entrance Reducer  (Read 2938 times)

Offline Two Bees

• Field Bee
Entrance Reducer
« on: April 26, 2008, 11:01:54 pm »
I am new to beekeeping and have found a lot of useful and interesting information on this forum.

I installed two new packages last Sunday and everything went well.  I installed the entrance reducer using the small opening.  Yesterday, I noticed that a lot of bees are hanging out on the front of one of my hives, pretty much covering the whole front of the deep hive body.  I noticed it again today after I went into the hive to see if the queen had been released (she had....yeah!) and to remove the queen cage and burr comb.  The hanging out seems to occur during the warmest time of the day (mid afternoon).  In NC we are beginning to have 80s highs and 50-60s for nighttime lows.

I am wondering if I should increase the opening to four inches.  I researched the topic of increasing the hive opening on this forum and in books that I have been reading but I am confused.

General consensus on this forum appears to be that if you have a "traffic jam" increase the opening.  I don't know if the gathering of bees on the front of the hive is a traffic jam or if they are just having a smoke and a beer!  Being so new at this stuff, I don't know if I could recognize a traffice jam if I saw one.........on the hive that is!  The Dummies book says to leave the reducer in the smallest entrance for six weeks after installing a new package.

What are the thoughts from you veterans?

Thanks!

"Don't know what I'd do without that boy......but I'm sure willin' to give it a try!"
J.D. Clampett commenting about Jethro Bodine.

Offline Shizzell

• House Bee
Re: Entrance Reducer
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2008, 11:13:09 pm »
Well, Two Bees, this, I'm sure is when you'll start the beginning of interpreting things for yourself. Your going to get 10 beekeepers give you 11 different opinions.