Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Greetings from Central North Carolina  (Read 3420 times)

Offline specialkayme

• Field Bee
Greetings from Central North Carolina
« on: January 07, 2009, 12:11:05 pm »
I just finished joining, so I figured I'd step in and introduce myself.

I've been beekeeping for a few years now. I got started when I took an intro to beekeeping class at NC State Univ. I'm still a student, but now in Law School, and I wander between Greensboro and Raleigh, NC.

I still have a hard time with beekeeping, mainly because I don't really have the time to commit in early spring. It really sucks.

As a result, my largest problems are controling swarms. Last year I had five hives, divided them into seven, then due to swarms and wax moths I lost all but two. One died out early winter, and the other I think might not make it. Going to check up and see where they are at next weekend. Hopefully they make it.

Just built an OH and bought a few frames of brood off Iddee (thanks buddy). I'm looking to buy two or three more hives to repopulate what I lost last spring and winter. (If anyone knows anyone that is trying to get rid of a few full hives in the central NC area, let me know, nucs and packages are good, but full wintered hives are even better :) ).

I'm not a good beekeeper, I'm having hard times keeping them here, and keeping them calm, but I'm trying and learning from my mistakes.

Oh, and I look foreward to learning more.

Offline troutstalker2

• House Bee
Re: Greetings from Central North Carolina
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2009, 03:32:15 pm »

Welcome from Hickory, NC. I've been into it for about two years. Last year I learned a few things about swarms also, but we are in it to learn and learn we will. I have 3 hives, have not lost any yet, but have not gotten a lot of honey either. I'm hoping this year will be a little  better in that respect.
    Again, welcome and don't be afraid to ask questions; you will learn a lot here.

David

Offline Cindi