Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Greetings from King George, Virginia.  (Read 1730 times)

Offline BeekeeperInKingGeorgeVA

• New Bee
Greetings from King George, Virginia.
« on: April 20, 2009, 12:06:36 am »
Hello world,

Just saying hi from rural King George, Virginia.  For those who never heard of the place, which is probably 99% of humanity,  it's about halfway between Washington and Richmond, not far from a town called Fredericksburg.  By vocation I am a software developer.  /* (Insert gratuitous emoticon here) */

I am about to be a new beekeeper, once my two packages arrive.  They are running a bit late, because the weather down in Georgia has been cool and rainy.  That's okay, though; more time to make sure all my preparations are in order- and to do some mushroom hunting (morel season is in progress again- yay!).

So why am I getting into beekeeping?  To tell the truth, I'm not sure.  Maybe it's because I've always been interested in bees and the prospect of taking care of them.  And I will certainly appreciate their services for the blackberries and raspberries and other bee-pollinated plants in my garden.  And, yes, I do have a sweet tooth, so the honey won't be thrown away...

I realize that beekeeping isn't easy and that success isn't assured; for example, the beekeepers of fifty years ago didn't have much of a problem with varroa or tracheal mites, or small hive beetles.  I hear that the rate of colony loss even among experienced beekeepers is in the neighborhood of 30%.  Nevertheless, by educating myself, by learning from my mistakes and those of others, and especially by persisting in the face of adversity, hopefully this will turn into a lifelong hobby.

Gosh, writing this self-introduction feels kind of awkward and embarrassing, like leaving a message on a stranger's answering machine.  Anyway, enough of this long-winded introduction; see y'all in the posts.

Regards,
Tim

Offline 1reb

• Super Bee
Re: Greetings from King George, Virginia.