Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Table saw  (Read 7894 times)

Offline Michael Bush

• Universal Bee
    • bushfarms.com
Re: Table saw
« Reply #20 on: November 12, 2014, 09:57:08 am »
>I am not a wood worker at all ..... notta... ziltch!

Well, I've been doing woodworking with my dad as long as I could remember, and then shop, and then I was a carpenter and of course now I build a lot of bee equipment.  I used a table saw a lot over the years, but never owned one until 10 years ago or so.  I once freeformed shaped an electric bass guitar with a skill saw... and made many top bar hives with nothing but a skill saw.  Not to be a wet blanket but if I were only learning woodworking to build a few nucs, I'd save my fingers and buy them... or if you insist, I'd buy the saw stop:
www.sawstop.com

At least that way it's unlikely you'll cut off your fingers, but you still could get hurt on a kickback...  I worked with an old carpenter who had been using power saws all his life (started doing carpentry professionally when he was 16) and he cut himself for the first time when he was in his sixties.  Working late.  Tired.  One second of losing his concentration.  Ran his thumb through a table saw.  He only kept his thumb because he always followed safety procedures and the blade only stuck up 1/8" above the wood... but an 1/8" by 1/8" channel cut out of your thumb makes it hurt the rest of your life every time it gets cold...