Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Question about bee agressiveness  (Read 2966 times)

Offline Umbriel971

• New Bee
Question about bee agressiveness
« on: October 19, 2004, 02:33:33 am »
Greetings!  I have as of late been helping a fellow beekeeper out with preparing his hives for the winter.  We have been checking and medicating his hives etc..  As I am new to beekeeping and have no field experience this has been a great and rewarding experience for me to be able to get some hands on with a gentleman with 30+ years experience.  

I have been reading quite a bit on the Russian strain of honeybee's because they seem to posses many of the qualities that would make them suitable for the climate around here, hardy, mite resistant and winter well.  Also many sites mention that they are quiet.

However, during my working with these hives, the other species he has were quite calm, most likely because of the weather being quite cool and we had little problem with them, the Russian strain however were quite active and the gentleman says that this is normal due to their being a colder climate bee, but the were very aggresive and very cranky. We were not pulling honey frames, just putting strip etc in.  The other colonies hardly noticed us.  Is this unusual?  Could this be the case of having a hive that has superceded with a "hot" queen?  Could this behavior be bred out with replacing the queen with a different one, or is it the case that this particular breed is overall more agressive despite what I have read and only seemed out of place due to the cool weather.

THe gentlemant I was helping says that in general whilst the russians are excellent producers they tend to be more agressive, which again seems to contradict what i have read.  Anyone care to weigh in please?

Offline Finman

• House Bee
Re: Question about bee agressiveness
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2004, 10:53:18 am »
Quote from: Umbriel971