Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: No queen in sight, need help please  (Read 3793 times)

Offline backyardhoney

• Brood
No queen in sight, need help please
« on: June 06, 2011, 02:22:54 am »
I am new to beekeeping, and am in need of desperate help/advice.  I checked on my new hive today, after being installed for a week, and found lots of new comb constructed, but my queen has vanished...  There is no brood (capped or uncapped), very little pollen, and a lot of uncapped honey.  Seems there were I believe 3 queen cells that were all empty.  Now, that being said, I purchased a hive full of bees, brood (capped/uncapped), capped honey, and capped pollen from a reputable beekeeper.  I just ordered a new queen, which I hope to introduce this next weekend.  I have read in alot of the older posts that it would be wise to take a couple frames of brood/pollen/honey from the other hive, install into this queenless hive, before queen introduction.  My question is, what do I replace the frames I take from the thriving hive with, and what do I do with the excess uncapped honey/polen from the queenless hive?  As I said, there is probably a good 4-5 frames of uncapped honey/pollen in the queenless hive now (in a deep super).  Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated.   :)

Offline AllenF

• Galactic Bee
Re: No queen in sight, need help please
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2011, 04:37:43 pm »
1 week old hive.   And you could not find any eggs?  Was it a package or a nuc?    Was the queen in a cage?

Offline backyardhoney

• Brood
« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2011, 04:54:45 pm »
Was a package, queen was in a cage, set her in the hive with marshmellow in end, workers had released her 3 days later, and then 1 week after inspection, she was gone.  No eggs, nothing, all uncapped honey

Offline AllenF

• Galactic Bee
« Reply #3 on: June 06, 2011, 05:00:55 pm »
I would give her a little more time to start laying again.    New queen just released.   

Offline Kathyp

• Global Moderator