Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Bees just love swarming  (Read 6002 times)

Offline Clegs

• House Bee
  • Let the good times roll!
    • CalebGo.com - Gread dissusion forums, programmers, hobbiests, or just anyone
Bees just love swarming
« on: July 02, 2007, 09:25:57 pm »
This is my first year having a hive.  I put my bees in my hive and everything worked just right.  They were even a head of schedule of where they were supposed to be from the books I've been reading.  Until....

A few weeks ago my bees swarmed so I set about finding a way to merge the swarm with my existing hive (I only had one hive).  So, by use of a queen excluder, made it so there was no queen in my hive, then I took all of the bees and put them in the lower super.  I then put a few pieces of news paper with holes punched in them on top of the super and set the other super full of the swarm bees on top of the news paper.  I also added a honey super, to give them more room.

To make a seemingly never ending story short, they didn't swarm for a whole week.  That's right, the next Monday they all flew out and landed on our plumb tree.  I was about to collect them when they all flew back into my hive.  (I suppose that I should tell you that the method I used to make sure there were no queens in my hive meant that I put a queen excluder on the bottom so the queen couldn't fallow the swarm.)
I opened the hive and there were a few queen cells, so I killed them, and I rearranged a few of the frames to give them more room for brood.

The next day they swarmed again.  Then I did a huge rearranging.  I put the queen and all of the "emptier" frames into the bottom super and surrounded it with queen excluders.  I then had to leave for a week.  I told my neighbors to call my cell phone if the bees swarmed again.  I did not get a call the entire time I was gone.  But the day I came back, they swarmed again.

I opened the hive and there were around 4 queen cells, I removed them.