Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Day 3 - Swarm still in the neighborhood  (Read 2829 times)

Offline monkeyfish

• New Bee
Day 3 - Swarm still in the neighborhood
« on: August 17, 2004, 10:06:43 pm »
Greetings,

Well, it's been 3 days now and the swarm <see post 'I Blew It!'> is still up there. Now that the rain has stopped and the temp is up, they are starting to wiggle a bit.

Meanwhile, back at the hive - I got in and looks like still quite a good number are remaining. They were non too happy though! Lots of drones.
The deep comb is mostly empty, no sign of any eggs. I saw about 5 or 6 queen cells at frame bottom, but a couple looked empty? <still under construction?>
Super #1 has 8 of 10 frames full of capped honey, deeps have some.

Is the high drone count because they get left behind by the swarm?
Should I harvest the super or leave it ?
Does it sound like a new queen is 'in the works'?
Shouldn't the swarm be movin' on by now?

Forgive all the questions, but this is my first year, first swarm.

Thanks,
~Scott

Anonymous

Day 3 - Swarm still in the neighborhood
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2004, 09:58:23 am »
Give this method a try that John the bee master decribes in another post.

"I've set up a plastic tarp under the tree branch before strung between ajoining trees with a hole in the center of the tarp with a bucket below. The tarp slopes like a huge funnel to the bucket and I used a weight on a clothes line to toss up and grab the branch.

I and my wife grabbed tight to the rope, jerked it hard and 90% of the bees fell straight down into the tarp and slid into the bucket - I quickly covered it and waited for the airborn and remaining bees to reland on the branch BEFORE repeating the process.

Meanwhile, I dumped the bees into a readied hive and blocked the entrance so they could not escape - I had no idea WHERE the queen was, so I had to assume she was STILL on the branch.