Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Advice for starting 2 new hives, 1st year beek  (Read 5585 times)

Offline dean0

• House Bee
    • My photovoltaic Website
Advice for starting 2 new hives, 1st year beek
« on: February 09, 2011, 02:12:45 pm »
Hi, I am planning to start my first 2 new hives this spring in Central Florida.  I have purchased, assembled and painted my hives which will consist of 1-10 frame deep and 1-10 frame medium, 1 screen bottom board and 1 migratory cover each. My hives are assembled and have been sitting in the yard for a week to allow any fumes from the paint to dissipate by the time I acquire the bees. I am getting my bees from a local beek and member of this forum, Hardwood, some time in March (hopefully earlier  :)).  I am planning to purchase, assemble and paint 6 medium 9 frame supers and 54 medium frames this weekend just to have on hand should the bees like their new home and new more room for expansion.  Since this is my first year working with bees, does it sound like I am on the right track or is there something else I should be doing?

Question about the migratory cover.  Since it has a top and a bottom, a 3/8" side and 5/8" side, which side goes on the bottom.  I am assuming that since the entrance is 3/8",  that I should put the 3/8" side of the migratory cover down to create a 3/8" bee space rather than a 5/8" bee space.  Any ideas?

It has been years since I have been stung by a bee so I hope I don't find out that I am allergic to them.

Hardwood, If there is a day on the weekend, prior to me receiving my own bees, that you are working your hives or collecting a swarm, I would like to volunteer my time to help you any way I can gather as much hands on experience as I can before I am on my own.  Also let me know what I can expect when I receive my bees.  Thanks.

Dean

Offline Yuleluder

• House Bee
    • Yule's Apiaries
Re: Advice for starting 2 new hives, 1st year beek
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2011, 03:38:59 pm »