Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: hive placement  (Read 2391 times)

Offline chickenwing654

• House Bee
hive placement
« on: January 05, 2015, 07:24:41 am »
Hi

Newbie here.

I am planning on a hive placement now.  I understand nothing is perfect.  I read about the ideal locations you should look for.  I have a  rural area  with neighbors houses 300' away.  It's on top of the hill so I always get wind.

Going to be on a square acre lot.  House and barn in front close to road (higher in front and slopes downward towards back).  Middle of lot is a small garden area, and have a lower garden entire back of lot.  Thinking about placing either lower right or lower left) corners next to garden area and woods.  This area get full sun from 8 am to 4 during summer.

Another location would be a undeveloped lot to right of barn (upper right).   I eventually want to make it into a woodlot for storing firewood, but wouldn't need all the space.  It would get longer sun here, but is higher in elevation (would get more wind).

What is the usual space needed for a comfort zone around the hive?

Thoughts on going forward.

Thanks for all replies in advance.

David

Offline Michael Bush

• Universal Bee
    • bushfarms.com
Re: hive placement
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2015, 11:04:02 am »
There is no perfect place.  Here's a prioritized list:
http://www.bushfarms.com/beesfaqs.htm#locating
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm en espanol: bushfarms.com/es_bees.htm  auf deutsche: bushfarms.com/de_bees.htm  em portugues:  bushfarms.com/pt_bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--James "Big Boy" Medlin

Offline Beeboy01

• Field Bee
  • Oh Look A Honey Bee !!!
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2015, 11:11:46 am »