Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Drawing comb  (Read 2637 times)

Offline heidip

• New Bee
Drawing comb
« on: April 24, 2006, 03:18:52 pm »
Hi, I'm a total Newbee here..and hived my first package on 9 April...unfortunately the rep from our club that demo'd before we went home put an inner cover and then an outer cover, over the hive top feeder..so many of the newbees in our group have had an issue with bees drowning in the hive top feeder...so I packaged on the 9th and once I found out, removed the inner cover on the 15th..no drowning since, which is good...but I'm wondering if I lost too many bees, as this weekends inspection only showed me (using a 10 frame deep) that only two of my frames were drawn out (#5,6 counting from the edge) frames 4, 7 were only drawn in the top corners and the others nothing at all...I did see some larvae, can't quite make out the eggs yet..and did see my queen...it just seems to me that more comb should be drawn out..and I'm wondering if I lost too many bees from drowning and don't have enough workers to provide the necessary comb, I'm sure I lost a hundred or more...they're so little that it's hard for me to estimate. I'd appreciate any feedback and more than a little encouragement? thanks.  :(
hp

Offline amymcg

• Field Bee
    • http://www.mcglothlinmusic.com
Drawing comb
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2006, 03:23:48 pm »
They will draw it as they need it.  It's a little early for them yet, so they just drew what they needed I think.  Do you have capped brood? If so, don't worry, you will soon have more bees and more workers drawing wax.  Just keep them fed.

Too bad your teacher screwed you guys up with the inner cover thing.

Offline heidip

• New Bee
Drawing comb
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2006, 03:30:28 pm »
I did see some capped brood, though only a few cells...I have been keeping them fed and they are flying and coming back with pollen...it's like watching a fish tank, I go out there every day and just watch! Thanks!
hp

Offline amymcg