Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Spoonful of honey cures allergies  (Read 5204 times)

Offline rayb

• House Bee
Spoonful of honey cures allergies
« on: May 01, 2008, 10:42:34 am »
A recent morning news show featuring Dr. Tim Johnson talked about relieving seasonal allergies. He stated that taking a spoonful of local raw honey daily may be tasty but will not help allergies because the pollen is "just from flowers".

I realize that the "flowers" may be on trees also, but don't know if there is anything more to this "cure".

Anyone have any opinions on this? I would email him with some thoughts if you have info.

Thanks, Ray

Offline Daddys Girl

• House Bee
Re: Spoonful of honey cures allergies
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2008, 12:05:32 am »
I have been using raw, local honey for about 18 months, in conjunction with homeopathic Histaminum 30C to treat and stay on top of my allergies.  I had used Histaminum 30c alone for about 2 years prior to adding the honey, and experienced a small drop in allergy symptoms that first Spring after the honey was added.  This Spring is the first time in 14 years that my allergies have not hit me so hard that I was significantly ill as a result.

Raw honey has a number of properties, including enzymes and trace quantities of pollen, molds, and other allergens that could contribute to improved health.  It works differently, and on different time scales for everyone.

Disclaimer:  This is anecdotal evidence.  I also lost 40 pounds and did a total reworking of my diet, including the removal of uncultured dairy and soy from my diet.  Your mileage will probably vary.  A lot.

Offline indypartridge

• Queen Bee
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2008, 08:10:02 am »
A recent morning news show featuring Dr. Tim Johnson talked about relieving seasonal allergies. He stated that taking a spoonful of local raw honey daily may be tasty but will not help allergies because the pollen is "just from flowers".