Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: 2nd deep for brood box  (Read 4445 times)

Offline Carol

• House Bee
    • critters and crawlers visiting or living in my back yard
2nd deep for brood box
« on: November 19, 2013, 02:12:49 pm »
I have one hive that seems to have a lot of bees. Lots of them bearding the entrance before daylight...even when cool. Should I add another deep below the one they have so they can expand the broodnest if they want to? I figured it would be warmer if the existing one were the top one. I would remove the super and put the 2 frames of empty comb in the bottom deep. I use foundationless frames.

When I did the hive check on 11.7.13 I did not find any swarm cells etc...but I am concerned they are overcrowded. This is my first year going into winter with bees. In central FL and asters still blooming. Pollen coming in.

Moots

Re: 2nd deep for brood box
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2013, 02:23:52 pm »
I have one hive that seems to have a lot of bees. Lots of them bearding the entrance before daylight...even when cool. Should I add another deep below the one they have so they can expand the broodnest if they want to? I figured it would be warmer if the existing one were the top one. I would remove the super and put the 2 frames of empty comb in the bottom deep. I use foundationless frames.

When I did the hive check on 11.7.13 I did not find any swarm cells etc...but I am concerned they are overcrowded. This is my first year going into winter with bees. In central FL and asters still blooming. Pollen coming in.

Carol,
I'm also headed into my first winter with bees, so my 2 cents is probably worth less then you are paying for it.  :laugh: