Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Intro, and question  (Read 1685 times)

Offline LindaS

• Brood
Intro, and question
« on: April 03, 2010, 10:26:08 pm »
I am a clueless newbie, but the household here (SE Michigan) has been very interested in providing a place for a hive here in the (large) yard for a number of years. 

My apologies in advance for the flavor of this post....  I know that there are much more efficient and practical ways to provide hive space.  But one of the housemates (who actually owns the property) would really like to have an old-fashioned British-style bee skiff.  We have been unable to find out *anything* about the actual construction of such a thing, other than the pictures of the woven outside basket-dome.  That part's easy. 

Does anyone know anything about the internal construction *under* the basket-dome that needs to be there to facilitate bees?  What little I have been able to find out is that the  dome is shading an understructure, and that the dome is elevated,  and that the entrance is close to the ground. 

Does anyone know anything else about how this old technology was actually put together?

Offline Kathyp

• Global Moderator
  • Universal Bee
Re: Intro, and question
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2010, 10:42:47 pm »
if you put your location in your profile we'll be able to give you a better answer. 

most places that have regulations on beekeeping require that you have removable frames.  even so, you probably could get away with it if you were only talking about one.  the reasons they have fallen out of favor are that you can not harvest without destroying the hive, and the size is limited so swarming is almost guaranteed. 

as an alternative, you might consider one of the old fashioned looking garden hives, or a top bar that can be designed to blend in and can be as big or small as you need it to be.  there are quite a few top bar beekeepers on here that could help you out.