Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: How close to extracting? PIC - YAY  (Read 4095 times)

Offline Harpo

• House Bee
How close to extracting? PIC - YAY
« on: October 31, 2011, 06:44:27 am »
Hi all,

I'm a newbie with a hive I had for 1 year, it swarmed but I caught them with help and made another... then 2 days later another swarm landed and I hived that! SOLO!  :shock: A week later another one giving me 4  :)

In creating the new hives I had to take some brood from my original which I supered with a queen excluder and saw these frames... how much of the frame has to be capped to be considered extractable? I've heard honey taken too early can ferment??

« Last Edit: October 31, 2011, 07:35:49 pm by Harpo »

Offline Harpo

• House Bee
Re: How close to extracting?
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2011, 07:11:23 am »
I'm trying to upload a pic of one of the frames but says I can't due to the fact I'm a newbie and because of spamming  :?

Offline Harpo

• House Bee
« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2011, 07:32:43 am »
Could someone PLEASE tell me how many posts I have to make before I can upload pictures?  :(

This is VERY frustrating!!!

Offline bernsad

• House Bee
« Reply #3 on: October 31, 2011, 08:57:53 am »
I don't know if it relates to a number of posts or to a period of time. Hang in there, it shouldn't be very long.

I think the general rule of thumb is 3/4 capped but apparently you can have frames fully capped that are still too wet and conversely you can have frames that aren't capped at all which are at an acceptable moisture level. The best way to tell is by using a refractometer, I'm just looking in to these myself.

And welcome to the forum by the way.

Offline Harpo

• House Bee
« Reply #4 on: October 31, 2011, 09:45:46 am »
I don't know if it relates to a number of posts or to a period of time. Hang in there, it shouldn't be very long.