Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Methods of Installing Packaged Bees  (Read 3290 times)

Offline Two Bees

• Field Bee
Methods of Installing Packaged Bees
« on: April 24, 2008, 09:56:32 am »
I am new to BK and just installed my first two packages this past weekend.  I have read about installing new package bees using a variety of methods such as:

1.  Shaking the bees out of the through the syrup can opening
2.  Removing the screen from one side of the shipping box and dumping the bees into the new hive
3.  Placing the whole shipping box into the hive after removing the syrup can and letting the bees walk out

Installing the queen appears to be the same in all methods if you use the slow "candy" release by hanging the queen cage between the frames (unless you immediately release her).

I understand there are some advantages/disadvantages of each method but what methods have worked best?

Thanks!
"Don't know what I'd do without that boy......but I'm sure willin' to give it a try!"
J.D. Clampett commenting about Jethro Bodine.

Offline Cindi

• Galactic Bee
Re: Methods of Installing Packaged Bees
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2008, 10:11:56 am »
TwoBees, welcome to our forum.  You have found THE place to get your questions answered, you have already began this process.  We welcome new members and love what they can add to our forum.  Never think that a question is not deserving of a great answer.  You answers to your questions will come.  When you have a minute, why don't you tell us a little bit about yourself in the greetings forum?  We are an inquisitive group of very friendly people and love to hear what new members are up to. 

How did you hive your packages?  Which method did you use?  Have a beautiful and most wonderful day, Cindi