Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: How many frames of brood should I expect now?  (Read 2568 times)

Offline ksw9298

• New Bee
How many frames of brood should I expect now?
« on: July 20, 2011, 03:24:16 pm »
This is my first year with bees, so thank you for the wealth of info on this forum.  I wish I would have found this before buying my beginner beekeeping kit this spring.

My question is how many frames of brood should I expect now?  I've got 2 deeps - 10 frames each (with foundation) and just added a small super about 2 weeks ago.   When I inspected the hive today, I found several frames in the bottom deep with pollen, honey, and what appeared to be empty cells.  Only a few had brood, and only a small section of the frame was covered.  But I didn't see any eggs.   In the second deep, there was 3 frames of full brood, another with eggs and brood, but the rest were honey, nectar and pollen.  The super (foundationless) has 4 frames of straight comb with some nectar or water I believe.  I did see supersedure cells in the 2nd deep.  I've only found my queen once this year, but have always found eggs when I've done my inspections.

As a new beek, I can now see why settling on one size makes so much sense.  I had problems getting the bees to move up to the super, so I moved a deep frame to the small super for a starting point.  (As I had found in a post here).  That worked like a charm, but I did end up breaking the comb that got built up underneath.  I was hoping to rubber band it into the super, but I'm still learning to juggle a hive tool, 1 full frame, and 1 empty frame.  I'm reading Brian's post about being pollen bound, but I don't know if I've reached that point yet.  Plus I don't have any extra frames/boxes laying around like it appears I need to have. 

Thanks for any help.

Offline mikecva

• Field Bee
Re: How many frames of brood should I expect now?
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2011, 03:58:28 pm »