Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Harvesting my honey--need advice..  (Read 4887 times)

Offline Queen Bee

• House Bee
Harvesting my honey--need advice..
« on: July 01, 2004, 09:52:03 am »
Next Sat. I will bee harvesting my honey!! I have been keeping bees for 4 yrs. now BUT the first year --no honey because of new foundation and  new pkg. bees...Second year--I had two great hives BUT it rain everyday for what seems liks 5 months-- not much honey at all (30 lbs.).. Third year--I split my hives,added a couple more, feed them for months, added new queens and started out with a bang-BUT there was a heat wave with the drought and no one in NC made honey. This year--I added more hives, requeeened, had drawn foundation for almost all my hives, the weather has been perfect AND now I have approx. 30  med supers (completely full), and approx 25 frames (that I will pull from other supers), 4 deep supers and even my two nucs have med supers on them that are full. :D
PS remember- I have one really hot hive that is going to be requeened before the robbing.. How would you handle this???Week ahead, week later, day before????????

Now comes my questions: How do you prepare for you extracting day? Do you rob your honey and extract it on the same day? Do you have a tried and true method? What is the best way to rob, extract and bottle this much honey?? I have a little 'house' that is set up. I have an extractor (9 frame), I have purchased my jars, labels, decapping knife, pans, strainers, plastic 5 gal. buckets etc,etc...

Thanks for your suggestions, comments, and advise.. Thanks Debbie

Offline Finman

• House Bee
Re: Harvesting my honey--need advice..
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2004, 10:30:31 am »
Quote from: Queen Bee

What is the best way to rob,

The best is put a excluding plate between capped honey box and another hive. Bees move themselves during 24 hours fron honey box. That makes the minor disturbance to colony.