Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: So what if you significant other is allergic?  (Read 2480 times)

Offline beekeeperookie

• House Bee
So what if you significant other is allergic?
« on: December 12, 2006, 05:56:36 pm »

Does anyone have bees and someone in there family is allergic to them.  My husband says he allergic to bees, he told me that he been stung and his whole hand swollen up.  I understand that this is a reaction but I am a EMT and I know some people react strong than others, like me I get just a bump and itchness.  So far he not severarly allergic but the question is what do you do to justify having the bees? :?

Offline Kathyp

• Global Moderator
  • Universal Bee
Re: So what if you significant other is allergic?
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2006, 07:21:22 pm »
i get great huge welts that are hot and itchy and last for a couple of weeks. (that's a great sentence to diagram :-) )  there is a difference between an allergy and a reaction.

the honey bees don't sting to often.  if your SO were to stay away from the hive, I'd think there would not be to much danger.  he/she would be more at risk of being stung by a yellow jacket or wasp on any given day.
Someone really ought to tell them that the world of Ayn Rand?s novel was not meant to be aspirational.

Offline Paraplegic Racehorse

• House Bee
  • Kilted beekeepers unite!
    • Me Blog
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2006, 07:37:53 pm »
Everyone I know who is allergic to beesting suffers anaphylaxis. That's the only thing I would worry about when it comes to sting allergies.

As it happens, almost every beekeeper I met when I was working in Washington had either a child or spouse who suffered anaphylaxis from beesting. None of them kept hives near the home. The honey-house and hive-parts storage were also located away from home. There was a sting kit in each vehicle and several in the home.
I'm Paraplegic Racehorse.
Member in good standing: International Discordance of Kilted Apiarists, Local #994