Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Latest date to install bees  (Read 2507 times)

Offline bsteele

• Brood
Latest date to install bees
« on: March 27, 2009, 05:31:40 pm »
I'm totally new to beekeeping and currently constructing a langstroth hive.  What is the latest date you'd recommend installing bees?  I live in the midwest near Kansas City. 

Is it too late to order bees? 

I should have it completed and frames installed in a week ot two.

Thanks.

Offline Keith13

• Super Bee
Re: Latest date to install bees
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2009, 05:57:54 pm »
You can still install bees in your are Michael Bush will probably weigh in on this but I think if anything it might still be early in your area. The problem might be ordering them suppliers might be booked up

Keith

Offline Bee-Bop

• Field Bee
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2009, 06:08:03 pm »

Remove this if it needs to be !

I think some one from Lee Summit has a few nuc's left !
PM me if interested, I will look up his address.

Bee-Bop
« Last Edit: March 27, 2009, 06:33:57 pm by Bee-Bop »
" If Your not part of the genetic solution of breeding mite-free bees, then You're part of the problem "

Offline Michael Bush

• Universal Bee
    • bushfarms.com
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2009, 07:38:21 pm »
The problem will be finding them.  Ask around.  The KHPA could probably direct you to people who are bringing in packages or nucs.
My website:  bushfarms.com/bees.htm en espanol: bushfarms.com/es_bees.htm  auf deutsche: bushfarms.com/de_bees.htm  em portugues:  bushfarms.com/pt_bees.htm
My book:  ThePracticalBeekeeper.com
-------------------
"Everything works if you let it."--James "Big Boy" Medlin

Offline JP

• The Swarm King
  • Universal Bee
  • I like doing cut-outs, but I love catching swarms!
    • JPthebeeman.com
« Reply #4 on: March 27, 2009, 08:38:38 pm »