Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Beginner Question About Buying Bees  (Read 1518 times)

Offline tsnyder88

• Brood
Beginner Question About Buying Bees
« on: May 25, 2009, 03:01:42 pm »
I am new to this whole process and have a million questions but first and foremost what is the best way to go about starting to get my hives and bees. Is it a good idea to buy existing hives (hive, bees and queen) from someone who is downsizing or going out of business. Is there a lot of risk to the bees and queen in moving the hives a fairly large distance and change in altitude?

Offline Hethen57

• House Bee
Re: Beginner Question About Buying Bees
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2009, 03:32:09 pm »
There will probably be many opinions, but I think you are better off starting with new equipment and package bees or a swarm.  With old equipment, it is probably more difficult to identify the level of viroa mite infestation and you may be getting a hive that is on its way out.  Alternatively, it could be a resistant survivor strain, so who knows.  As far as moving the hives, the don't care...they will reorient at the new location.  Just seal them up at night and move the hive while everyone is in it.
-Mike

Offline rast

• Field Bee
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2009, 03:56:00 pm »
 My suggestion is a 5 frame nuc in new equipment, with "new" not being a priority. What is a priority is getting it from someone reputable. That way you get a laying queen with bees that are used to her and don't have the "down" time waiting on a package to draw comb, hope they like the queen, and waiting for her first layed eggs to hatch. Just add frames and watch them grow.
 Another reason for starting small is you grow with them and can learn what goes on in the hive without being intimidated by 50,000 bees swirling around you.
 Another thing is start with at least two hives if possible.
 Its moving bees a very short distance that can be a problem, not a long distance as long as they don't overheat.