Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: First Year Beek w/ Question  (Read 2114 times)

Offline sarafina

• House Bee
First Year Beek w/ Question
« on: October 03, 2008, 06:05:42 pm »
This is my first year as a beekeeper and I didn't pick the best year to start!  I have had 2 major surgeries and this has hampered my ability to get into my hives to inspect so they have been left to their own devices since the end of June.

I only have one hive and it was building up nicely with 2 deeps and I added a honey super around mid-May with starter strips.  End of June I harvested 3 frames of honey out of the center, replaced them with frames of starter strips and intended to come back for the rest later.

Because of my health I was not able to inspect again until today.  I live about 20 miles north of Galveston, TX and we got hammered with high winds from hurricane Ike.  We had a large tree come down in the back yard and it fell around the beehive.  By some miracle, the "Y" in the branches fell on either side of it and it was ok!  My beehive was the first thing I checked on at first light as I only had about 10 rocks piled on top of it to weight it down.

Anyway, when I opened up my hive today the top super was full of caped larvae and running out of room.  I had intended to take the super off and add the third deep but now that it has larvae in it I just left it.  I added another box with the plastic frames.

I didn't look in the lower boxes as I am not really sure what to look for and I wasn't sure I am strong enough yet to pull the top box off with it full.

My bees are flying like like they always have and I sometimes see the orientation flights of a new group (always thrills me!).  It is cooler here, but still warm - 60's at night, high 80's during the day and the flowers are coming back after wilting from the hot summer.