Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Another *#@% Laying worker! What can I salvage?  (Read 1561 times)

Offline MeadFarm

• House Bee
Another *#@% Laying worker! What can I salvage?
« on: July 28, 2010, 05:20:07 pm »
Yep. This is the second time this year. The first one happened early enough to deal with (and it worked, thank goodness).
It's too late to rear a new queen so...what can I salvage? There is a bunch of pollen and honey stores (some of the pollen cells have eggs on them!)
Should I just shake the bees and give the boxes to another hive? I'm not thrilled about giving large boxes as supers but I hate to let all the stores go to waste. If I do place the boxes on another hive should I just put it on top or should I put it above the brood nest?
GRRRRRRRRR!

Offline HomeBru

• House Bee
    • Drew Family Farms
Re: Another *#@% Laying worker! What can I salvage?
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2010, 05:26:09 pm »
I'm a newb, but here's what I came across when dealing with my own lost queen/laying workers problem:

-Can you buy a new queen anywhere? I'm in Indiana and a number of experienced beeks offered this solution just last week.

-Do the 100-yard shakeout and do a newspaper combine with another hive. That way you're adding extra foragers to the system.

-Let it waste away, freeze the pollen and honey frames for other hives in the winter. (This is what I ended up doing as the hive crashed too far to salvage.)

my $.02

J-

Offline woodchopper

• House Bee
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2010, 07:25:37 pm »
Buying another queen won't be a waste of money or your time. Even if they don't overwinter you'll gain more drawn out comb to use in a hive next year. I requeened one of my hives a few weeks ago and was surprised the laying worker or workers didn't kill her. Plenty of brood now and the hive actually seems to be improving.
Every man looks at his wood pile with a kind of affection- Thoreau

Offline Kathyp

• Global Moderator
  • Universal Bee