Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Suggestions Please........  (Read 2999 times)

Offline Old Blue

• House Bee
Suggestions Please........
« on: May 11, 2013, 08:25:31 pm »
One of my hives is too hot  to handle.  I run all feral bees and am used to uppity bees that fill the air, but I now have a hive that attacks en mass.  During spring I normally insert two unbuilt frames into my brood nests every two weeks to keep them from swarming and to keep them in expansion and building mode. 

I have never had any difficulty doing this until now.  My demonic hive drives me out before I can get the first of 4 deeps off to get to the brood nest.  The bees just come pouring out and fill the air and start attacking my gloves en mass to a point that I just have to put it back together and leave.  I have a lot of experience running these and am privy to all the finer points of smoking, smoking and waiting etc.  Those are not the issue in this case.  I also know that the hive is not queenless.  There is simply a bad bug in there that I have to locate and apply the hive tool test on.

There is no way I can go through this colony frame by frame.  I wouldn't make it past the first 6 frames.  I am thinking of separating all 4 boxes with their own bottom and top boards and leaving them untill I can either go through every frame or wait to see which box has brood.  I think the brood option would take longer than I would like and longer than the owner of the land where I am keeping them may be willing to put up with.  I don't know what is going to happen to the queenless other 3 boxes during all this but I have to do something about this.

I have also heard that if I cage a queen and put her on the top of the frames that the resident queen will be there withing 10 or 15 minutes to kill her and I should be able to find her then.  Anybody know if thats true? 

This is a big hive and it is going to be difficult to handle.

Old Blue