Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: New to beekeeping  (Read 2408 times)

Offline maecooper

• New Bee
New to beekeeping
« on: May 21, 2007, 08:08:03 pm »
I'm new to beekeeping in San Francisco.  I have also posted about this on the beekeeping yahoo group.

I installed a new package of bees on May 11.  All went well and I put a jar of sugar water inverted with holes in the lid above the inner cover in an empty hive body and put the cover on.

Four days later I opened the hive and the queen had been released.  I found her with no difficulty.  The workers were building comb and had filled some of it with the sugar water.

This past Saturday (just over a week since they were installed) I opened the hive again.  About four frames had been 80% drawn with comb.  I found only one egg by itself, mounted to the side of a cell toward the bottom of a frame.  The queen somehow came dislodged from the frame she was on and landed in the grass.  I coaxed her onto a leaf and dropped her back into the hive.

So here are my two questions:

first, should I be concerned that I have only found one egg so far or do I just need to be patient?

second, is there any reason the queen would not be ok after her excursion outside the hive?

Thanks for any information or advice you might have.

Michael

Offline Robo

• Technical
  • Administrator
  • Galactic Bee
  • Beekeep On!
    • Bushkill Bee Vac
Re: New to beekeeping
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2007, 09:36:33 pm »
So here are my two questions:

first, should I be concerned that I have only found one egg so far or do I just need to be patient?

second, is there any reason the queen would not be ok after her excursion outside the hive?

Thanks for any information or advice you might have.

Michael