Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Unexpectingly came into bees and built TBH's for them  (Read 2601 times)

Offline jeremy_c

• House Bee
Unexpectingly came into bees and built TBH's for them
« on: May 13, 2009, 10:28:52 pm »
I have unexpectingly come into bees. I picked up two packages today. This is my first year bee keeping and I have 4 Langstroth hives. I started in April w/2 but knew pretty quickly that I'm going to stick with this hobby, so I ordered two more packages but was then notified that they probably will not come in. Disappointed, I called around and was able to order from another local person. I then called the first place and cancelled my order (Saturday, 2 weeks before the others "would" have come in and also the same day I picked up my bees from the other breeder). Anyway, much to my amazement, the first company called yesterday and said my bees were in! Apparantely things happened so quickly and they had to go pickup the bees right away, so they did not get around to cancelling orders. They said I could turn them down and they understand fully but I can't turn down bees :-D

Anyway, after putting in my 4th Langstroth hive I began reading about TBH's and figured I would give them a try next season, however, with the 2 unexpected packages, I got to work right away building two TBH's. I picked up my bees today (was notified yesterday they were avail) and got one of the hives completed in time to install one package. The other hive is 90% done but we just ran out of time.

So... I did a few things in a hurry. The major one that concerns me is the top bars. I am reading all sorts of conflicting reports about what to do and what not to do. There are two things I am concerned about with them and I am hoping for some input. Between my two false backs, I placed 8 bars, so I have only added guides to those 8 bars, the others are undecorated right now in hopes of getting some input. So, the concerns: