Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Spring Feeding  (Read 2616 times)

Offline bassman1977

• "King Bee"
  • Super Bee
Spring Feeding
« on: February 06, 2006, 07:16:58 pm »
Is there a rule of thumb to go by when you should start thinking about feeding in the spring?  Temperatures consistantly in the 50s (F) perhaps?
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(''')_(''')

Offline Ruben

• House Bee
Spring Feeding
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2006, 09:38:03 pm »
I am a newbie and have just been reading and doing research all winter til my bees get here in the spring. To answer your question from what I have read and NOT experience, the book I read (beekeeping for dummies)  says to start feeding a few weeks before the first blossum, that this will stimulate the queen and encourage her to start laying eggs. It also says on a warm late winter day to check in and see if there is sealed honey in the top frames, if not to start feeding and once you start not to stop until the bees are bringing in pollen and nectar. Hope this helps, the experienced people may tell you something different  that may be more helpful. Just thought I would try.

Offline Apis629

• Field Bee
    • A Hobbyist's Beekeeping Adventures
Spring Feeding
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2006, 11:09:25 pm »
Wow...you're talking about feeding and I'm talking about harvesting tomarow...!

Offline bassman1977

• "King Bee"
  • Super Bee
Spring Feeding
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2006, 12:15:01 am »
Thanks Ruben.  That works for me.  I actually have that book but with the remodling going on in the house, who knows where it is right now.  One thing it mentions...
It also says on a warm late winter day to check in and see if there is sealed honey in the top frames, if not to start feeding and once you start not to stop until the bees are bringing in pollen and nectar.