Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Canola Pollination in Australia  (Read 6126 times)

Offline OzBuzz

• Queen Bee
Canola Pollination in Australia
« on: August 24, 2011, 09:06:17 pm »
Hey Everybody,

I was wondering if those that have experience providing hives for canola pollination could let me in on their tips/advice? I'm supplying 50 hives to a grower here in Australia next week and this is my first time on this crop... i know it's labour intensive given the rapid build up but how do others manage their hives while on the crop?

Offline OzBuzz

• Queen Bee
Re: Canola Pollination in Australia
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2011, 09:19:20 pm »
Nobody has done canola pollination?

Offline nella

• House Bee

Offline OzBuzz

• Queen Bee
« Reply #3 on: September 20, 2011, 09:50:58 pm »
Thanks Nella,

I've already got the full set of reports from the RIRDC in regard the pollination fact sheets - i was hoping someone might have some 'real world' experience of pearls of wisdom they might be able to pass on from their experiences on canola...

Offline the-ecohouse.com

• House Bee
    • the-ecohouse.com
« Reply #4 on: September 21, 2011, 10:02:49 am »
Hi There,

There is certainly an abundance of Canola in Victoria this year.

A few years back I was asked to supply a few hives for a trial patch that a local farmer was running.

We ran a couple of test patches one with the hives smack bang in the middle of the field (in an un-sown square) and one with hive along the side. (the first patch yielded more canola) We prepared the hives in autumn by feeding them up with sugawater and essential oils (prob to late for that this year) so we started off with hives that were rearing to go.