Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Hello from Australia :)  (Read 5416 times)

Offline brydie

• New Bee
Hello from Australia :)
« on: December 10, 2006, 11:24:26 pm »
Hello from Australia!  I am new to beekeeping and just wanted to say hi!  I hope to enjoy this site and learn from more experienced keepers.

I purchased my first hive 3 weeks ago.  I opened it yesterday for inspection.  I was a bit nervous but all seemed to go fairly well.  I got stung a few times  :)

Hey does anyone know about people who are "immune" to bee stings?  I remember being stung a few times when I was young and it hurt like crazy and was swollen for a few days after.  But the stings I got yesterday hardly hurt at all (got a couple through cotton gloves and one on the bare skin of my shoulder after a bee managed to get in my overalls).  Felt a bit like an accupuncture needle with no pain afterwards.  When I checked the sting sites after getting out of my gear, I couldn't see any of the stings on my hands and the one on my shoulder was slightly raised and red (could even see the stingers hanging out of my skin but not swollen).  I was amazed, after about 20 mins you couldn't even tell I had been stung.  Perhaps I'm a lucky???

Anyhow must "buzz" (you guys probably get that all the time...hahaha)  Take care hope to chat soon!

Best wishes - Brydie  :)

Offline Cindi

• Galactic Bee
Re: Hello from Australia :)
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2006, 12:35:38 am »
Brydie