Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: Newbie and ordering Bees, Italian or Russian? Whats better?  (Read 19167 times)

Offline Greg watkevich

• House Bee
Newbie and ordering Bees, Italian or Russian? Whats better?
« on: January 21, 2010, 06:53:54 pm »
Hey I am just getting into beekeeping and am building some hives, frames, etc and working on getting all the supplies.  I need to place my order for bees this weekend.  Should I get Italian or Russian and what makes one better than the other?  Also, when just starting up how many nucs should I purchase?  I was planning on getting two.  Your comments are welcome.
Thanks  Greg Watkevich

Offline wfuavenger

• House Bee
Re: Newbie and ordering Bees, Italian or Russian? Whats better?
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2010, 07:15:34 pm »
I would recommend these two links from NC state:

types of honey bees and their traits

comparison of russian to italian

So to answer you.... Yes.

I would get 1 or two of each and see which you like more, then after a few years order 2 or three queens of the type you like and pinch the existing ones you dont.... I want to try russian, carniolian and italian. I am getting 2 italian mutts this spring and eventually 2 carni or 2 russian and then 2 of the other.

Offline Greg watkevich

• House Bee
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2010, 07:34:36 pm »
Thanks for the link to the comparison of the Italian and Russian bees.  I think I like the idea of italians based on the high brooding all summer.  On the otherhand, I am a little concerned about the Italian strain being more susceptable to disease, mites, etc.   Is it true that brood size with Italians can get out of hand that it is a problem going into the winter and cause starvation?

Thanks Greg Watkevich

Offline wfuavenger

• House Bee
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2010, 09:05:13 pm »
You might want to let us know where you are. There is a big difference in overwintering in Florida vs Maine.