Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: My take on CCD  (Read 4640 times)

Offline gunny

• House Bee
My take on CCD
« on: June 03, 2007, 02:57:49 pm »
I am by no means an expert on CCD but have a couple of observations and opinions.

#1.  Cell phones ain't got a thing to do with it.  Have worked my bees with a phone on my side and have even made/taken calls with a handsfree Bluetooth device while working with my bees.  No apparent ill effects.

#2.  Recovered a swarm out of my neighbors hedge and got them in a nice new hive box.  Had the hive in my back yard on a picnic table where I could keep an eye on it.  Fed them and fussed over that hive.  Girls were used to me coming by every day, no problem.  One day I walked up to the hive and got stung 3 times before I even got close to the hive.  Put my suit on to see what the problem was.  Found the hive to be pretty much empty, maybe 60 bees in it, no eggs, no larve, very little honey or pollen, just some drawn comb, drawn sideways.  The Italians 300' away which had robbed my Russians wouldn't go near that hive to rob what was left.  No dead bodies around.  Not sure if the fact that the comb was drawn sideways is of any account.

#3.  Doubt if it is insecticide or it would have affected my other hives, got a few in 3 diferent directions within 300'.

#4.  As it was late in the season and I was busy with other things, just left the hive box where it was, about a month later the wax moths moved in.  Mockingbirds took care of them when I left the frames out where they could get to the moth's larve.

#5.  Mites?  No more or less than the other hives around.

#6.  After being outside all winter, used the fames out of that hive in a super for another hive, just harvested honey from that hive and it is doing very well.  Whatever it is, if it is CCD, it does not seem to linger like foul brood.