Welcome, Guest

Author Topic: 1st ever honey harvest ~> Oregon wetlands blackberry & wildflower  (Read 5396 times)

Offline Dane Bramage

• Field Bee
I pulled 5 capped frames from one of my hive's supers as my first ever harvest earlier this evening.  Gave me a chance to test drive the saf natura 9/18 motorized stainless radial extractor and master elec uncapping knife.  All worked very well without incident nor much muss & fuss.  I was a little concerned about the frames fitting rather loosely but the centrifugal force held them in place nicely.  I extracted ~ 2gallons. 
The quality of this honey is really unique from anything I've ever experienced.  I am a beginner beek but have been a honey connoisseur for several years - always selecting raw, unheated, unfiltered honeys.  I picked up some blackberry honey from my local beek supply shop in order to compare my harvest.  I believe blackberry is the main nectar contributor to my current honey harvest but there is definitely something else going on.  It is lighter in color, not as "high glycemic" (less sweet) and incredibly more complex in taste and aromatics than the straight blackberry.  It seems almost more like tupelo honey, but more full bodied & intricate.  Fruity but very floral as well - like roses over blackberry or even Juicy Fruit gum (as an artificial comparison).  I feel a need to attempt to identify the other contributing blooms.  The pollen collection is mainly the blackberry gray but there is also very bright (almost "neon") orange and lemon yellow at the moment.

At any rate - wow!  I'm happy & impressed!  This being my first season I imagine I'll not have much surplus (& I've already committed to giving away loads, lol) but I'm going to try and get some samples to some more experienced beeks to get their impressions.  I'm really doing my best to be objective with my review but I need to rule out pride clouding my judgment.  :mrgreen:

Cheers,
Dane

Offline BEE C

• House Bee